Exercise your depression away

caralot

stretchingExercise may not be a lot of fun, but it has huge benefits for your physical, mental, emotional and spiritual health.

Exercise may be better than medication for your depression.   Studies show that people who regularly exercise are more positive and less depressed.

When you exercise, your body releases endorphins which are chemicals that trigger positive feelings and diminish pain perception.

Regular exercise:

  • boosts esteem
  • reduces stress
  • decreases feelings of anxiety and depression
  • helps you sleep better
  • lowers your blood pressure
  • reduces body fat and improves muscle tone
  • increases your energy
  • strengthens your heart

I don’t like to exercise but I always feel better when I do.  My husband knows this and tries to encourage me to talk a walk or go for a bike ride.  Sometimes when I’m feeling depressed and just want to stay in bed or sleep, he will keep bugging me until I get up and when…

View original post 24 more words

Leave a Reply

