Developing a Rhythm for Life

David Cummings on Startups

Following up on the Notes from John Paul DeJoria, there was an area that I wanted to explore further. DeJoria talks about his personal rhythm, including taking a solo retreat each year to the mountains for a couple days to ask questions like what am I doing and what do I want to be doing. Personally, I don’t take a solo retreat but I think it’s a great idea.

There are a number of things I do for my own rhythm:

  • No iPhone or laptop in the morning for the first 30 minutes
  • No more than one breakfast meeting and one evening meeting per week
  • Weekly exercise of at least 90 minutes
  • Weekly date night with my wife
  • Weekly adventure with only my kids
  • No more than one week of business travel per quarter
  • Quarterly week-long out-of-town family vacation
  • Annual review of personal, family, and professional goals

I’ve talked…

View original post 37 more words

Leave a Reply

