journal of a journey

the bamboo principle

Everyone is travelling, moving to stand still or to race ahead. Everyone is in transit getting to a better place or trying to get back to when life was kinder. Some feel like they have the route planned then realise their maps are outdated; some have visions of disappearing off into the sunset somehow leaving their existence behind; some meander without caring to see.

I used to be the kind of person who liked things planned, scheduled and punctual. From the age of 12, I was already trying to control my weight to the pound, my pocket money to the penny and my handwriting to the end flourish. Maybe it’s why I became a teacher: to have my day, year and career already mapped out for me. I lived by my watch, my diary and my calendar. But I soon learned that to live life like that was only existing…

View original post 388 more words

Leave a Reply

