The pursuit of happiness

The Era of Growing Up

“Happiness is not something ready made. It comes from your own actions.” – Dalai Lama XIV

 

I have a tendency to think that in order to be happy, you have to be able to follow your heart. You have to know what you want, which, as a soon-to-be-no-longer-teenager, it is nearly impossible to know what I want in life. There is way too much uncertainty to know what tomorrow will bring. When people say that they are searching for happiness, what does that even mean? Is happiness just going to be falling out of the sky and all of a sudden, you’ll see it? Or is happiness the end result of doing what you love. Everyone always told me that if I chose something I like to do as my career, then I’ll be happy with my life. But the road to the end goal can be a long…

View original post 543 more words

Leave a Reply

